OceanDocs >
Africa >
African Marine Science - Oceanography - Fishery >
Miscellaneous >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1834/775

Title: IUCN in West Africa- Challenges and Opportunities
ASFA Terms: Droughts
Issue Date: 2001
Abstract: The West African region covered by IUCN-BRAO comprises 17 countries: Cape Verde, Senegal, Mauritania, the Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Côted'Ivoire, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Niger, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, and Chad. It extends over a surface area of 7,500,000 sq. km with a population of nearly 250 million inhabitants, or an average density of 33 inhabitants per sq. km. With the exception of Chad and Mauritania (members of the Permanent Inter-States Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel1), IUCN-BRAO's target region corresponds to the ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) space. Eight of the fifteen ECOWAS member states --the CFA franc zone-- form an economic and monetary space: the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA).
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1834/775
Related document: www.iucnrosa.org.zw
Appears in Collections:Miscellaneous

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
IUCNwa.pdf171.01 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.