OceanDocs >
Africa >
Tanzania >
Institute for Marine Science - Zanzibar >
IMS Series >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/1834/1327

Title: Mkuranga Governance Baseline
Authors: Torell, Elin
Mmochi, Aviti
ASFA Terms: Baseline studies
Issue Date: 2006
Publisher: Coastal Resources Center, University of Rhode Island
Abstract: Mkuranga district is one of the six districts that form the Pwani Region (Figure 1). It was established in 1995, when the eastern part and coastal area of the Kisarawe district was cut off to form the district of Mkuranga. It is a relatively small district, covering 2,432 square kilometers, which is about a quarter of the size of Bagamoyo and about the size of the Zanzibar Islands. The district has about 90 kilometers of coastline, extending from the Temeke to the Rufiji districts. Like much of coastal Tanzania, the district is endowed with coral reefs, mangrove forests, and coastal fisheries. Remote unpopulated islands host endangered species such as the red colobus monkey and attractive birds. In Mkuranga, there are seven coastal villages: Shungubweni, Mpafu, Kerekese, Kisiju Pwani, Mdimni, Magawa, and Kifumangao and several near-shore islands, hosting the Boza, Kuruti, Kwale, and Koma villages (Mkuranga District Council 2002). Most of these villages are remote and naccessible, despite the relative proximity to Dar es Salaam.
URI: http://hdl.handle.net/1834/1327
Related document: http://www.wiomsa.org/data/content/DOCUMENTS/20068...
Appears in Collections:IMS Series

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
Mkuranga_baseline.pdfMain Article300.21 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.